Summer Begins

Hi everyone!

Yay!  Summer is actually here!  We have been getting a lot of rain in our province and the southern end of it is actually in a lot of trouble due to them.  Our city itself is under flood watch right now.

The news on the home front is that our community garden has just been planted.  It is late in the season, so it will be interesting as to what comes up.  I am growing squash, carrots, turnips, zucchini, corn, beans, and for something pretty, some snapdragons.  We are in a raised bed this year, so this makes planting easier.  I loved it.

On the writing front, I have made some progress.  I have submitted Maidenhood Sign to Beneath Ceaseless Skies, so I am waiting on pins and needles as to whether it will succeed or not.  If not, I will try one more time, and if it doesn’t succeed, I will publish it myself on Fantasy’s Fancy.  I have just published the poem “Who?” on The King’s Poetry, and it already has a like, praise God!  Ok, now on to the really juicy news!  I have mentioned the Kent Chronicles, I’m certain of it, especially in the past few blog postings.  I have decided to do it like a chronicle, or a blog of members of the city.  For the moment, they will be around Mary and her journey.

That’s where I’m looking for an app or something I can use online.  I am using Edmonton loosely as a place.  Numbered streets as well as avenues will be replaced with names, and buildings will be relocated to keep their locations more secret.  The only difference is that I would like to put them on points of interest on a map. I don’t want to put it on something like FourSquare because they will be different from our town.  I want this to be as interactive as possible so that if someone were to come to Edmonton who read the blog, if they chose, they could see where Mary “lived”.  I would want to do it with hashtags, and have it link to the posting on the blog.  If anyone has any ideas, feel free to post.  Thanks.  Feel free to read The Kent Chronicles.

Ok., maybe that wasn’t the really juicy stuff.  For months now I have been mentioning that I was going to have a podcast for the King’s Poetry.  Well, the introduction to the podcast is up!  I will be doing the first podcast episode in a little over a week.  Here is the link. 

Just as an afterthought, I am planning on working on the art for the King’s Poetry Chapbook as well.  Lord willing, it will be ready for publication in five years.  Also as an afterthought, and I can’t believe I did this, I am again working on Sword of Earth with precautions so that if something happens to my computer, I can always work on it.

So, things are growing, just as things are in the garden and in the world around us.  All I have to do is praise God, for it’s all His.  He’s growing it.  Thank you for reading, and may your journeys be safe.  Take care, and God bless.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Summer Begins”

  1. boomschors Says:

    Another Title

    I saw this really great post today.

  2. dvb-t Says:

    I keep listening to the news update speak about getting free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the most excellent site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i acquire some?

    • Michelle Earl Says:

      Hello. Welcome to my writing blog. Unfortunately, I don’t know of any online places where you can get writing grants. I would encourage you to get involved with a local writers’ group or a good online one. They might be able to help. Also, check with your local government. The applications should be free. Other than that, try http://www.writersdigest.com The staff there are pretty knowledgeable. I hope that helps. I hope you come again!

Leave a Reply

