Gardening and Writing – An interesting Connection

Well, another Spring has come, and with it a chance to get into my character’s past life before her family was killed in a fire. Today I transplanted my Russian Tarragon plant into a bigger pot and planted some spinach as well as snow peas in my container garden. On Tuesday, I am going to be planting a bigger garden at our community garden. I do love digging into the earth both for its ups and downs.

For the ups, I love getting the veggies, but I wouldn’t like to be like Aylanna and her family. They would have to grow enough to last the winter. That is kinda the idea for me, although I don’t have to. I have the farmer’s market and Save-on-Foods if I want, even though it’s not. I’m hoping to cut down the veggie budget this winter.

I’m going to take a look at the rhubarb in the next day or two as well. Hopefully, some will be ready to pick and stew. That would be wonderful. That’s one of my favorite things to have in the summer along with some toast in the morning. I wonder, what would Aylanna like in the morning. Fruit and toast? Bacon and eggs? It’s something I haven’t thought about yet, and I should since she is on the road now.

I’m still on chapter 3, but it has been busy lately, and now with the community garden starting up, it’s bound to get busier. So, for all you writers out there, (or aspiring writers), what does your main character like to eat for breakfast? It’s an interesting connection – gardening, breakfast, and writing, but they need to eat too!

Until next time, God bless you.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

